John Prine, Prison, Sex, Religion, Abe Lincoln, Grammar and Happy Meals (favorite Google Hits)

photo

I was inspired by a recent blog post I read to check out the Google searches people have used to find “A Way With Words”.

My overall impression is that Google Search is doing a fine job of directing readers I want to reach my way.  I hope, in turn, they are finding here much of what they are looking for.

I thought it might be a helpful service, however, to directly address a few of the searches I found particularly appealing –

has john prine ever been to prison

No, you are thinking of Johnny Cash, who recorded “Live at Folsom Prison”.  John Prine did write the song “Christmas in Prison” but he did this with his artistic imagination and poetic license (which he keeps in his billfold next to a picture of Fiona in a bathing suit).

the pursuit of happiness sex scene

Hmmm.  I guess I could work in a sex scene between my 70+ year old lead characters, but that would be just, well… gross.

religion is a system of wishful illusions

On the contrary, as C.S. Lewis once wrote – “If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the next.”

which president is better abe or george and why

Well, according to one of my new blogging buddies, Abraham Lincoln was actually one of our worst Presidents.  I disagree.  While it’s hard to definitively discern history, I believe Lincoln did as good a job managing the worst period in our nation’s history as any President before or after him has done (in much less difficult times).

why is there a place for grammar and mechanics in modern culture

Just as the sun rises in the morning and the moon rises as night. we rely on grammar rules and mechanics to provide anchor our words such that we can make beautiful sense.

how to write an interview on happy meal

Go to the source.  Old McDonald’s Farm.

4 thoughts on “John Prine, Prison, Sex, Religion, Abe Lincoln, Grammar and Happy Meals (favorite Google Hits)

  1. Nothing funny lately, but there are times when I see the Google searches and just scratch my head bewildered.

  2. This is so great! 😀 Makes me smile. I cannot fathom Abe Lincoln being our worst president.

    As for grammar and mechanics– I don’t think I could have said it better myself! You know, sometimes even when things makes sense, what we read or write doesn’t always seem beautiful. Yet, I think life is supposed to be beautifully messy, that there are treasures to be found in the dark and ugly. The hunt, the adventure, the journey to find those treasures is more important than the actual discovery. In writing, grammar rules and mechanics help us navigate the journey through words– grammar and mechanics are our road signs pointing the reader where to turn, where to rest, where to run, where to slow down, and where to stop.

    Without these signs, the reader becomes lost–the treasure remains buried, and we’ve simply given the reader a mess of words on a page.

    Anyway, I shall stop there as I could probably keep going! (I think too much. :p ) This is a fun post, Tony! Nice job!

    • Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments and kind words.

      I don’t think you could ever think too much. It’s only when we act too little that we get into trouble. And I can’t see you doing that. 🙂

What Do You Think?