Free At Last; Free At Last; Good God Almighty I’m Free At Last!

I had a wonderful brief chat with the owner of a top-notch marketing firm today and came away with a great deal of clarity about the next step in my writing career.

And the answer is?

Freelance.

Yes, the path to making a living in writing (whether it be journalism, creative, marketing, or technical) is to produce a portfolio of work, build a reputation in the writing community, and establish a network of relationships.  In other words, pay your dues.  Then, maybe your efforts will pay off and your talent will be discovered.

At first, I felt a measure of disappointment.  The prospect of building another career (with no guarantee of income) is rather daunting.  But, as I drove along I-65 South, I began to feel liberated.  I am confident of my writing ability.  Now, instead of dividing my attention between writing and looking for employment, I can devote myself to writing and finding the right avenues for my work.

Free at last.  Free at last.   Good God almighty I’m free at last.

Of course…. there is a cost to freedom. Fortunately, I have lived simply and not accumulated debt.  With the help of family, living expenses are minimal.  There may be only a thin safety net, but I trust God will provide if I do my best.

In the meantime, I appreciate your prayers and encouraging words.   I already have one project I’m working on and some leads on others.

“So be sure when you step, Step with care and great tact. And remember that life’s A Great Balancing Act. And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾ percent guaranteed) Kid, you’ll move mountains.”   ― Dr. Seuss,  Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

Dr. Seuss from C’est Si Bon in Seussville

15 thoughts on “Free At Last; Free At Last; Good God Almighty I’m Free At Last!

  1. He always does provide..
    Have fun on this adventure “moving mountains.” 😀 You are going to do great things… how could it be any other way, you DO have a way with words.

  2. I like this! As an aspiring writer myself, struggling along in a job I hate, it’s inspiring to hear that it’s ok – heck, mandatory almost – to write, write, write and work seriously on my craft, rather than gutting myself submitting applications to jobs that don’t inspire me.

    Write on, Tony.

    • One thing I should point out (for full disclosure) is that I have worked over 20 years in a professional career. I have no debt, a few assets, some savings, and a modest pension.

      Still, I encourage all writers with a calling to pursue their art, by all means. In the meantime, live frugally and stay out of debt.

What Do You Think?

