My Mock Interview for a Marketing Internship

This morning I met with a job coach who offered me some very useful suggestions to help prepare for my coffee meeting tomorrow.  After our meeting, she hooked me up with a video slide show on “Informational Interviewing.”  One tip they provided that stood out for me was “BE SERIOUS.”  In an effort to purge myself of silliness (sort of like Mardi Gras before Lent), I thought I would write this post, imagining how the meeting could go (if I were to let it).

Marketing Guru (MG):  Tony Roberts?
Me:  Yes.  (extends hand)
MG:  Wow, has anyone told you you look like Brad Pitt?
Me:  I get that a lot.  We have the same optometrist.
MG:  I love the outfit.  Very hip.
Me:  I can’t take the credit.  I don’t dress myself.  I have people, you know.
MG:  Well, thank you for meeting me.  Would you like some coffee?
Me:  That would be great.  Some Americano.  I like supporting the local economy.
MG:  (to clerk)  That’ll be two Americanos, please.
          (to Tony)  So, you are interested in the field of marketing?
Me:  I am.  I have a way with words and I’d like to help small businesses and non-profits realize their potential.
MG:  How did you find out about our firm?
Me:  Through LinkedIn.  I explored your website and I’m impressed by your neighborhood focus and your creative approach.
MG:  Thank you.  Tell me, what have you done that could prepare you for a career in marketing?
Me:  Well, being a pastor involves a lot of marketing.  Only, instead of a product or service, you offer new life.  As pastor, I’ve led a creative team of volunteers and paid staff to interpret mission, build relationships, and foster community.
MG:  If you were a character on Sesame Street, who would you be?
Me:  Excellent question.  I admire Elmo’s playful charm, but I am more like Kermit, inquisitive and a real team-builder.
MG:  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Me:  I would love to be doing work with a firm like yours, living in a neighborhood like this, writing day and night.
MG:  Do you have any questions for me?
Me:  Just one, but I’m afraid to ask.
MG:  Don’t be.  Go right ahead.
Me:  Do you know of John Prine?
MG:  Oh my, yes.  Greatest singer-songwriter on the planet.
Me:  Phew!  Okay, thanks.
MG:  Why?  Could that have been a deal breaker?
Me:  It could have, yes.
MG:  Well, thank you for contacting me.  You’ve given me a lot to think about.  I’ll be in touch.
Me:  Thank you for your time.  I really appreciate it.
brad pitt appears courtesy Brenda Clayton in Bespectacled

What do you think?

Would you hire this guy?

13 thoughts on “My Mock Interview for a Marketing Internship

  1. I wish you the best Tony…I just did an internship at a marketing company while finishing up a communication degree-parts of it were exhilarating and parts of it were frightening. Re-making yourself is not for the faint of heart and the jury is still out on me.

      • No, not boring-but don’t go by me…we are all on different journeys. It felt great to survive the interview process and have them use some of my work plus it was a requirement to finish my degree…so all n’ all, good experience.

  2. All the best, and I love the idea of a “Mardi Gras before Lent” moment. The Brad Pitt “I have people, you know” and the optometrist crack made me laugh out loud in my office. Can’t wait to hear about your next adventures in the world of marketing, and know if you need to break away from all the seriousness, we’ll be here, waiting to laugh out loud again!

What Do You Think?

