A Modest Proposal

I received the most intriguing e-mail this morning.  I’m wondering if this may just be the unveiling of something great.

From: Mr. Zhang Yong <bootcampchallenge@insightbb.com>

To: Undisclosed recipients

Mailed by: insightbb.com

Important mainly because of the people in the conversation.

I have a proposal of mutual benefit for you.

So many questions arise.

First, just who is this Mr. Zhang Yong (and why does he still go by “Mr.”)

Well, according to this youtube video, Zhang Yong established the world weightlifting record of 218 kg in Israel in 1998.  I’m thinking, with that kind of strength, if he wants me to call him “Mr.”, I will gladly oblige.

Next, what is this “Boot Camp Challenge” he represents?  I googled this and the first result linked me to a Facebook page that offered this description –

Wake up to the Challenge!

On September 29, 2012 the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) San Diego will host the 10th Annual BootCamp Challenge, a 3-mile obstacle run. This unique race features obstacles used only by Marine Corps Recruits, plus over 60 USMC Drill Instructors that “encourage” participants along the race course. The BootCamp Challenge is a part of the annual schedule of events during San Diego’s Fleet Week.

I don’t know about you, but as a 48-year old man who is almost 50 pounds overweight and whose idea of physical training is to walk from the recliner to the refrigerator to get a snack (which is usually not fruit), the idea of 60 USMC Drill Instructors “encouraging” me along a race course is not exactly what I would call a “mutually beneficial proposal”.

So, while I thank you very much, Mr. Zhang Yong, and appreciate your service to this great nation of ours by reaching out to flabby, middle-aged balding men like me with this opportunity of a lifetime, I’m afraid I’m going to have to pass.

Sayonara.  And Semper Fi.

“Marine Drill Instructor. Semper Fi!” from Natalie Lopez in Journey Through Pictures

7 thoughts on “A Modest Proposal

  1. Goodness gracious…I sure hope the drill instructor in the photo has brushed his teeth and used mouth wash 🙂
    I’m with you on this one Tony…recliner, kitchen, bathroom.

  2. Just a tip: Zhang Yong is not a Japanese name. Likely Chinese. So you might want to take the “Sayonara” (actually “Sayounara” さようなら) out. Otherwise, it reads like ‘All them Asians is the same’, if you catch my drift.

    • Thanks for the tip. Of course, the other way to look at it is self-parody. To paraphrase my father, “I’m just a dumb old Kentuckian with a sixth-grade education. I wouldn’t know a Japanese weightlifter from a Chinese one, even if he came up and hit me and the face (and he just might).

  3. So funny! You know, when these types of marketing things come through my email (or even a phone call) I get a bit miffed because I wonder if people even bother to research their audience first. I think marketers sometimes create a campaign and then just throw it out to the general public to see “what sticks.”

    On the other hand, this particular sender may be a genius because you were so intrigued by the outreach you researched it, watched the video, and then wrote about it (with links) to an audience of several hundred more people, thereby helping him drive and expose his brand/message further. 😀

    • Good point. I think the return on this sender’s investment was well worth the effort.

      I’m always glad to help a worthy cause, especially for Asian weightlifters twice my size.

  4. A good combo for recliners and writing: Furinno Adjustable Laptop-Desk. I use it two different ways and the only drawback is it’s a pain to get it back to one from the other. But it’s really light weight. Hope you don’t consider this spam. I don’t even know if you write from a laptop, this is just what popped into my mind!

What Do You Think?

