Analytical Creative Work for a Savvy, Connected Man

 

 

Yesterday, I was actively pursuing my career as a “writer for hire”.  In addition to the connections I mentioned (“God Speaks Through WordPress, G-mail, LinkedIn, and Facebook”), I developed a draft of a business website and recruited some feedback from a few faithful followers.

I was so revved up when I went to bed last night, I couldn’t sleep.  I stayed online sending messages to current and prospective LinkedIn connections.  I went to the job postings page and my eyes fell on one particular listing.  It began like this –

Job description:  Convince. Inspire. Educate. Entertain.  Are you the perfect blend of creative and analytical? I bet your friends even describe you as savvy and connected.

I immediately thought after reading the first line – hey that’s me.

Though I scored a 720/800 (before grade inflation) on the Math section (analytical) of the SAT, I valiantly pursued and obtained a B.A. in English and theology and completed a novella (creative).

For 18 years, I studied ancient texts for their essential meaning (analytical) and brought them to life in story-sermons (creative) that were engaging for all ages.

After leading 4 church organizations in faithful community building and fruitful mission funding (analytical), I am now devoting my talents to crafting a spiritual memoir and sharing stories to reach people around the world in unique ways (creative).

A perfect blend of creative and analytical?  Well, nobody’s perfect, but I’d say that fits me to the tee.

As for “savvy” and “connected”…. well, it depends how you define the terms.

As I’ve written before, I graduated from college well before Al Gore invented the Internet, back when you could only store about 25 pages of material on a 64-inch floppy disk.  Over the years, I met the tide of e-mail, Internet, WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, etc., with a mixed measure of irritation and glee.

I’ll admit I sometimes get extremely frustrated with simple technological instructions and quickly yell “Help!”  I have the “Happiness Engineers” at WordPress on speed-link.  But, in many ways, I am a quick learner.

In just about 6 months of blogging, I have built up a faithful following of over 400 engaged readers, resulting in 100+ views a day and often over a dozen thoughtful comments.  One lesson I carry over from my days as a pastor is the importance of maintaining your following with intelligent content, not just rushing after the latest trends or posting regularly about your most recent satisfying bowel movement.  (Once is enough.  Well, this makes twice.  Twice is okay.)

So, I applied for the job.  I even proposed doing an Internship at a reduced salary so I could enhance my skills and demonstrate my value.

This may seem like a step in the opposite direction – away from freelance writing.  My plan, however, is to do both.  I may not be the best at balancing, but as I read in a piece by a very wise woman, it may be more about integrating than balancing (thanks Leanne Sype).  My day job can stimulate my freelance work and my freelance work can inform my day job.

In the meantime, I will try to get to bed a little earlier so I can get a good night’s rest and wake up refreshed for whatever God has in store for me that day.  You never know what it’s going to be, but I will do my best to meet each challenge with analytical creativity as a savvy and connected man with an unquiet mind who has a way with words.

(image above “Perfect Balancing!” from Colin Dean in Beautiful Outdoors)

8 thoughts on “Analytical Creative Work for a Savvy, Connected Man

  1. Savvy and connected…I do think that describes you.
    Savvy: The concise Oxford dictionary says of savvy, shrewd and knowledgeable about the realities of life Connected: You couldn’t have a greater connection than the Almighty, and you have that.
    Yes, you need to have an early night. Don’t lay in bed worrying. Remember, the LORD neither slumbers nor sleeps (Psalm 121:4) so there’s no point in both you and He staying awake 😉

What Do You Think?

