The End of the World (as they knew it)

Tonight I’m doing a reading for the “Upstart Poets Series” at the People’s Bar in Bloomington, Indiana.   Here’s one of the pieces I’m going to share.

+     +     +

 

There was a knock at the door and suddenly the Christmas lights went out.

“It’s the end of the world!” said Maura, an avid reader of apocalyptic literature who had yet to give up on the Mayan 2012 prediction.

“We need to pray.” said Paul, who, at 16, had found his way into a youth group at a local evangelical church.

“First we need to confess our sin,” said Father, rather quizzically.  He was a lapsed Catholic who hadn’t been to Mass in years and he wasn’t sure of confessional rules in the End Times.

“Okay, I’ll go get my cell phone.  I just downloaded a confessional app.” said Thomas who, after a season of doubting, had found a link to a site called “The Virtual Vatican” that had given his life new meaning and purpose.

“Let’s just answer the damn door and check the breakers!”  said Sonya, who had come out last year as an atheist.  Two years ago, she came out as a lesbian.  The year before that, as Bipolar.

Sonya answered the door.  Nobody was there.  She checked the breakers.  None of the fuses were blown.

“I tell you, it’s the end the world!” repeated Maura.

“Let us pray.” said Paul, bowing his head.

“First, confess.” said Dad, a little more certain.

“Where’s my cell phone?” asked Thomas.

“You guys are nuts.” declared Sonya.  ”I can’t wait to post this on my blog!”

“YOU ARE A BLOGGER?” they all exclaimed.

Sonya just smiled and quietly brushed a strand of hair from her face.

+     +     +

 

What do you think?

13 thoughts on “The End of the World (as they knew it)

    • You are right, Gina. It is definitely flash fiction. I’m stretching the boundaries a bit, but Bloomington (where I’m doing the reading) is a very liberal setting where rules rarely apply. 🙂

  1. Oh that made me laugh out loud and I really needed that, so thank you! I appreciate you stopping by my blog…I am really enjoying yours!

  2. I definitely think they need to be afraid of Sonya rather than the end of the world – those dread words: “I can’t wait to post this on my blog” should strike fear into their hearts. This is fictional Tony at his best 🙂

    • Thank you very much.

      I’m back from the reading. It went over well. Just 8 of us in a garage – very bohemian-like. It was an eclectic group and a diverse set of readings. I’m glad I went.

What Do You Think?

