Leanne Sype, Literary Structural Engineer

The difference between editing and proofreading
As some of you know, I am currently writing a book called Delight in Disorder: Meditations of a Bipolar Mind.  I recently established a relationship with Leanne Sype of Writings and Ruminations who has offered to serve as a beta-reader and (possibly) an editor for the project.  I just sent Leanne a completed first draft of the manuscript yesterday.  Today, I got a lengthy response.  She had read my first 31 pages and reviewed the e-mail responses I had given about the book.   Her response is absolutely lyrical –
     Your story is like a beautiful historic building–perhaps even think long-lost (precious) ancient ruins– that no one else has discovered. You are the only one who knows about this building and upon moving into it as it is, you have learned what every floor, every room, every structural beam, every wall is for and how they are relevant to the building. You know the story behind the building; you’ve studied it… the purpose of why it was built, what it was used for, who used to occupy it, and what happened to it. Now that you have lived in this building for many years and you know it… you are ready to reveal it to everyone. You are ready to invite everyone in to hear the story, admire the beauty in the details, to understand the history of this building. 
 
But, the building structure is unsafe for people to walk through let alone understand why it’s so important. It’s a beautiful building with rich history,  but the floors, the rooms, the structural beams, and the walls are not in working order. There’s holes in the walls, sunken floors, falling beams, cracks in the foundation threatening the overall strength… all effects of medication. But like with any historical building that needs renovation, there’s “good bones,” there are precious elements that have been preserved…
She goes on from there to provide an absolutely thorough, engaging, and on-the-spot analysis of the manuscript (as it currently stands).  I immediately responded to contract her services as editor and propose a working timeline with the goal of July for submission.
God is so good.  I feel like I’m back as a freshman in high school, a first-year tennis player bursting with enthusiasm and a fair amount of athletic ability but next-to-no knowledge of the game, connecting with a coach who believes in me and knows what steps I need to take to become a top-notch player.
Leanne, I can’t thank you enough.  I look forward to where God leads us in this project in the coming days, weeks, and months.  I trust the journey will be as gratifying as the destination.
(image above from Pen to Paper Communications website)

7 thoughts on “Leanne Sype, Literary Structural Engineer

  1. Awesome! Glad you have found a good beta-read/editor… those are hard to find. I hope the changes you need to make go smoothly! I’m looking forward to being able to read the finished project.

  2. Tony, that is an awesome first response from Leanne. Lyrical is certainly the right description. You should use that as part of your advertising for the book, or as one of the “what others are saying about Delight in Disorder
    I can’t wait to read the whole thing now 🙂

  3. This manuscript sounds very intriguing and one that I would like to read; it is evident a lot of passion and effort has been put forth in it’s creation. Leanne, what a wonderfully descriptive assay of the manuscript foundation…..I almost feel like I am “walking through the story” as I would the historical building you portrayed. Good job both of you!

    • Thank you, Andrew. I will be providing progress reports as we develop the book. Since I’m hoping to go a traditional publishing route, it may be quite some time before the full work is available. In the meantime, drop by for more fun and frivolity.

What Do You Think?

