Re-Examining “Why I Write”

At the top of this blog you’ll notice a “Why I Write” page.  This has been one of the most viewed pages (or posts) over the course of my brief blogging career.  For those of you with archaic advanced degrees (like in “theology”) – many of whom are professionally unemployed like me – this is my “prolegomena” (a fancy Greek word which means something like “the place where I tell you what I’m doing here”).

One of the great things about digital publishing, is that you can change your work as often as you feel the need.  I don’t frequently re-write posts (unless errors are pointed out), but I have re-written my “Why I Write” page several times to better reflect the shape this blog is taking and address new readers who have come on board.

Just recently, someone left a comment which inspired me to make another change – a significant addition.  It wasn’t the comment, so much as the commenter.  I had read a post on this person’s blog and had been very moved by the fresh, vibrant, faithful writing I found there.   It was a description of Holy Week from the perspective of a new believer and it deeply touched me.  So, I left a comment of appreciation.

And, as the story goes, the blogger returned the visit and left a comment on my blog.  End of story, right?  Well, not exactly.  You see, I got to thinking about many of my (especially recent) posts.  So, I added this to “Why I Write”…

Finally, a brief word about some of the more “profane” writing you’ll find here.  I was once asked by another blogger to describe my sense of humor and the first words that came to mind were “Ironic Iconoclasm”.  I believe that most people (from professing atheists to conservative Christians) actually worship many false gods (sacred cows) and, when I detect this, I count it my duty to make fun of them (often using strong language).  I see my mission similar to George Orwell, who wrote –

George Orwell

When I sit down to write a book, I do not say to myself, “I am going to produce a work of art.” I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some fact to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.

Hopefully, this will help readers who are at different places on their spiritual journeys not become bogged down in my sometimes strong sarcasm and “ironic iconoclasm” and we can grow together – speaking the truth in love.

photo of George Orwell from Nadeem Ahmed in Young “Legends” (Male)

s

What Do You Think?

