Back to Life

Writing

This morning I woke up at a reasonable hour and, after a breakfast of granola with blueberries on top, I sat down with a cup of coffee and cranked out a good 684 words – scene 2 of Life entitled “Home Education”.  It includes –

– a new character: Rachel’s father (as yet unnamed).

– beer and cigarettes

– a sub-plot about Rachel’s missing mother; and,

– a favorite line:   “He took a long drag on his Lucky Strike.  As he exhaled, he spoke through the haze of smoke.”

After doing a re-write of scene 1 : “One Last Night”, I now have 1,424 words on the hard drive.  I have the basic plot structure in my mind and, as I go for my walk today, I will put it on my voice recorder.  Tonight I’ll sit down and sketch the scene titles and sentence summaries (a method that worked well for Liberty and The Pursuit of Happiness).  Tomorrow morning, I’ll pick up my schedule of cranking out a scene a day.

I have also sent an e-mail request for a woman with keen literary sensibilities to serve as a beta-reader in my writing process.  It was sort of a serendipitous connection I made last night that may well be divine intervention (stranger things have happened).

So, Life is good.  Or will be… I’m confident.  Life is conceived and is developing in the womb of my mind.  Now and then I’ll drop in to share an ultrasound image (I promise, though, not to litter my site with them like random Internet cats).

(image “Writing” from Sarah Faith in These are a few of my Favorite things…)

4 thoughts on “Back to Life

  1. Keep going Tony! I know how hard it is to sit down and write anything of any length…for now, I am devoted to my “short spurts” and hope that eventually it will all come together. I can hope.

    • Thank you for your encouragement. Today I have a good bit of energy for the project. I suspect that will ebb and flow, but I’m determined (with God’s help) to get it done.

  2. Don’t you love it when you wake up at a reasonable hour, have breakfast and are then able to set about that glorious task of adding to your manuscript and begin to sense that feeling of satisfaction welling up within you.

What Do You Think?

