Keep On the Sunny Side, Always On the Sunny Side

AR Neal at One Starving Activist has nominated me for a “Sunshine Award”, which I very humbly and gratefully accept.  It is nice to know that my naturally rather dark disposition hasn’t fully gotten in the way on my blog, that someone has noticed rays a brighter Spirit shining through.

The terms of acceptance are as follows –

  • Thank the person who nominated you (thank you, AR).
  • Answer ten questions (see below),
  • nominate ten fellow bloggers, link to their blogs and tell them that they won the Sunshine award (see further below).

10 Questions

1.  What inspired you to start blogging?

In December of 2012, I started looking for work in the field of writing and my job coach Joseph Smith-Biddie recommended a create a blog as a sort of portfolio and a way to network.

2.  How did you come up with the name to your blog?

Actually, the original title of the blog was Will Write For Food (and maybe dental).  As my confidence developed, I decided one day I was not so desperate, that what I really had to offer was A Way With Words.

What is your favourite blog you like to read? 

I follow over 150 blogs and read many of them regularly.  If I had to pick one that offers consistent quality writing, it would be – russell boyle: Russell Boyle’s Favourite Poetry.

Tell about your dream job.

I would like to be an adjunct professor of creative writing and a writer-in-residence at a small town Christian college.

Is your glass half empty or half full?

From a human perspective, my glass is completely empty – but by the grace of God, my cup overflows.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

The Adirondacks, with my children.

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Food that bounces when you bite it – like octopus.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

When I focus on my health – dark chocolate.  When I give in to addiction – milk chocolate (as in peanut M&Ms).

How much time do you spend blogging?

Currently, quite a bit.   Maybe 6-8 hours/day.  Soon I hope to be gainfully employed, however, so this will likely be reduced.

Do you watch TV, and if so, what are some of your favourite shows?

The TV is often on in my household, but I don’t really watch it.   “The Andy Griffith Show” is far and away my all-time favorite.

10 Nominees

A is for a-muse-less (ah myooz lis) adj  1 bored with the state of everyday life, lacking something truely enjoyable and having to pull the absured and inane forwards from what we’re given.

The Equiatic Bind  Always speak the truth, think before you speak, and write it down afterwards – Lewis Carroll.

Marisa D. Lyon  Daydreamer. Passionate Writer. Music Lover. Spirituality seeker. Sarcasm Master. Travel enthusiast.

Gina Orlandi  My musings captured in words.

Iridescently Writings, Etcetera by Gina Marie.

mattthewriter  Travel… experience the world.

The Play’s the Thing  Reading Shakespeare’s Plays with Dennis Abrams.

Fide Dubitandum  Faith, Science, and the Meaning of Life.

Notes From the River Bank  A Pilgrim’s Journey (via a few bird hides)

MetaRealist Parables

5 thoughts on “Keep On the Sunny Side, Always On the Sunny Side

  1. The title of your post made me think of the song from “Life of Brian” (“Always look on the bright side of life…”)… 🙂 And be sure to check the postings at http://cccu.org/ to stay up on which schools might be looking for adjuncts…

    • The title is actually a classic country song made famous by the Carter Family (and recorded afterwards by a cast of thousands). Thanks so much for the link to adjunct postings. I was not aware of it.

  2. I recognize the song! If memory serves, it was featured on the soundtrack to *Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?*

    I enjoyed reading this post and learning a bit more about the history of your blog, Tony. I wish you the best of luck as you forge forward along your chosen career path.

    And thank you so much for the nomination! I’m truly honored. 🙂 [Takes a bow.]

What Do You Think?

