Awesome Blog Content Award (or, “A John Prine Primer: An Alphabetic Soundtrack of My Life”)

abc award

I was nominated for the Awesome Blog Content (ABC) Award by djmatticus of the matticus kingdom.

The terms of acceptance are to write something relevant about myself for every letter of the alphabet and to nominate others (see bottom).  I was intrigued by the challenge.  And, as I established before, I am an awards hog.  The following is a “Prine Primer” – an alphabetical soundtrack (sorry no X, V, or Z) of my life (with links to videos).  If you’d like complete lyrics, visit the John Prine Shrine.

All the Best

I wish you love
And happiness
I guess I wish you
All the best
I wish you don’t
Do like I do
And ever fall in love with
Someone like you…

Bottomless Lake

Here’s the story of a man and his  family
And a big trip that they took
Well, I heard all about in a restaurant
And I read it in a history book
They rented a car at the Erie Canal
But the car didn’t have no brake
Said Ma to Pa “My God this car”
“Is gonna fall into the Bottomless Lake”…

Common Sense

You can’t live together
You can’t live alone
Considering the weather
Oh my, how you’ve grown
From the men in the factories
To the wild kangaroo
Like those birds of a feather
They’re gathering together
And feeling
Exactly like you…

Dear Abby

 Dear Abby, Dear Abby
My feet are too long
My hair’s falling out and my rights are all wrong
My friends they all tell me that I’ve no friends at all
Won’t you write me a letter, Won’t you give me a call
Signed Bewildered…

Everything is Cool

Everything is cool
Everything’s okay
Why just before last Christmas
My baby went away…

Far From Me

…And the sky is black and still now
On the hill where the angels sing
Ain’t it funny how an old broken bottle
Looks just like a diamond ring
But it’s far, far from me..

Grandpa Was a Carpenter

…Grandpa was a carpenter
He built houses stores and banks
Chain smoked Camel cigarettes
And hammered nails in planks
He was level on the level
And shaved even every door
And voted for Eisenhower
‘Cause Lincoln won the war…

He Was in Heaven Before He Died

There’s a rainbow of babies
Draped over the graveyard
Where all the dead sailors
Wait for their brides
And the cold bitter snow
Has strangled each grassblade
Where the salt from their tears
Washed out with the tide…

It’s a Big Old Goofy World

Up in the morning
Work like a dog
Is better than sitting
Like a bump on a log
Mind all your manners
Be quiet as a mouse
Some day you’ll own a home
That’s as big as a house…

Just the Other Side of Nowhere

I’ve come from just the other side of no-where,
To this big time lonesome town.
They got a lotta ice an’ snow here,
Half as cold as all the people I’ve found…

Killing the Blues

Leaves were falling just like  embers
In colors red and gold they set us on fire
Burning just like a moonbeam
In our eyes…

Late John Garfield Blues

…An old man sleeps with his conscience at night
Young kids sleep with their dreams
While the mentally ill sit perfectly still
And live through life’s in-betweens…

My Darlin’ Hometown

Far away over the sea
There’s a river that’s calling to me
That river she runs all around
The place that I call my hometown…

New Train

Full blown silence in an empty room
A former bride and a former groom
A folding table and a folding chair
A folded hand of poker there
All new directions must go everywhere
Big round people in a cool little square
You can’t cut it with a boat or a plane
Man it’s gonna take a new train…

Often is a Word I Seldom Use

…I’m cold and I’m tired
and I can’t stop coughing
long enough to tell you all of the news
I’d like to tell you
that I’ll see you more often
but often is a word I seldom use
often is a word I seldom use…

Paradise

…And daddy won’t you take me back to Muhlenberg County
Down by the Green River where Paradise lay
Well, I’m sorry my son, but you’re too late in asking
Mister Peabody’s coal train has hauled it away…

Quiet Man

Strolling down the highway with my shoes in my hand
I don’t talk much I’m a quiet man
Beauty and silence both run deep
And running like crazy while you are asleep…

Rocky Mountain Time

…Christ I’m so mixed up and lonely
I can’t even make friends with my brain
I’m too young to be where I’m going
But I’m too old to go back again…

Souvenirs

…Broken hearts and dirty windows
Make life difficult to see
That’s why last night and this mornin’
Always look the same to me…

Take the Star Out of the Window

…Robert was a sailor
For the best years of his life
His captain was his mother
And the ocean was his wife
Only fresh out of the cradle
Life’s one and only spring
He was sworn to do his duty
And got blood on his high school ring…

Unwed Fathers

From a teenage lover, to an unwed mother
Kept undercover, like some bad dream
While unwed fathers, they can’t be bothered
They run like water, through a mountain stream

Way Down

…Spring is just a smile away
Laughing at a summer day
Turn around  Look at fall
Winter, hear my lonely call…

You Got Gold

Is there ever enough space between  us
To keep us both honest and true?
Why is it so hard just to sit in the yard.
And stare at the sky so blue?
I’ve got a new way of walking and a new way of talking
Honey when I’m around you,
But it gives me the blues when I’ve got some good news
And you’re not there to bring it to….

Nominees:

       Charm City Jukebox

       Bottomless Lake:  “If you should make  a mistake in the bottomless lake, you may never see your sweetheart again.”  – John Prine.

       justysir: Music, mostly

      Inspired Freelancing: Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever.

      You Hear That?!

      Paws for Thought: A diary of being a guide dog owner in Ireland.

      Mellotone70Up Blog

      The Temenos Journal: I seek, therefore I am.

      The Yogi Rock: it’s easier in mars.

      Big Blue Dot Y’all: politics, ethics, culture, diversity, feminism, economics, good news, bad news & news from around the planet–straight out of Nashville.

      Meadow Muffins of the Mind: The droppings of some guy’s imagination.

      Meanwhile, at the Manse: Retrieving and renovating a childhood home.

      Cave of Fame: Digging through the relics of rock music.

      The Midnight Tracker: Vintage vinyl, one side at a time.

4 thoughts on “Awesome Blog Content Award (or, “A John Prine Primer: An Alphabetic Soundtrack of My Life”)

  1. Pingback: Awesome Blog Content (ABC) Award | Inspired Freelancing

What Do You Think?

