Long Live the Liebster

Todd Foley of Scribbled Revisions has nominated me for a Liebster Award.   This is my second Liebster, which means three things:

1)  I’m just that good.

2) I’m an award-hog, and –

3) I can now die in peace.

But before I do, I should fulfill the terms of acceptance which include –

1.  Post the award image on your blog (above).
2.  List 11 random facts about yourself (below)
3.  Answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated you (further below)
4.  Make up 11 questions for those to be nominated (even further below)
5.  Nominate 11 people to receive the award (at the very bottom).

11 Random Facts:

1.  I didn’t get out of bed until 11 a.m. this morning (I’m in a bit of a funk).

2.  I had polish sausage and sauerkraut for breakfast.

3.  I’m currently listening to Bob Dylan’s “Love Minus Zero”.

4.  I’ve been reading Wendell Berry’s poetry collection Leavings.

5.  I’ll be travelling with my Dad to see my Uncle Larry in Tierra Verde, Florida this weekend.

6.  When I was a teenager, I had a crush on Kristy McNichol.

7.  I once had hiccoughs for 7 solid hours (a side effect of some medication).

8.  I once played basketball with Mel Davis (a Harlem Globetrotter).

9.  I’m planning to join a fitness center for a month (for free) and then drop out before they charge me.

10.  I’ve been attending a Reformed Presbyterian church in town.

11.  I’m hoping to land an adjunct teaching gig at a community college this year.

11 Questions Asked (and my answers):

1. Do you prefer conclusive endings in a story, or ambiguous endings? Why?

         Depends on the genre.  Novels and biographies – conclusive endings.  Short stories (as well as short memoirs, plays and poems) – ambiguous.  Well, not ambiguous exactly, but open-ended.  My reason?  If I invest as much time as it takes to read a novel, I believe the author has a responsibility to wrap up the loose ends.  For shorter reads, I prefer my thoughts (and emotions) to be provoked.

2.  Best movie you last saw?

      I saw both Lincoln and Les Miserables and while I believe Lincoln was well done, Les Miserables was a far better film.

Best book you last read?

    I really enjoyed reading Molly Best Tinsley’s memoir Entering the Blue Stone (reviewed here).

Favorite way to unwind and relax?

    I can usually best unwind by reading and writing, but sometimes I need to get out and take a walk.

What inspires you to write?

    Well crafted songs inspire me.  John Prine is my personal muse.

What is your ideal writing space?

     Sitting in a recliner with my laptop and my headphones.

If you could live in any city in the world, where would it be?

    Of the cities I’ve visited (or lived in), I would say either Louisville, Kentucky or Rochester, New York.

Biggest accomplishment as a writer?

                Aside from this nomination (of course), I would say completing a novella as a college senior called Life (in obvious places).

Biggest aspiration as a writer?

     I would like to complete my short story trilogy “Life”, “Liberty” and “The Pursuit of Happiness” for publication and adapt them into a play.  From there, I would like to supplement my income with published works.

If you had an entire day to yourself, how would you spend it?

Praying, walking, reading, and writing.  (Oh, and eating as well).

Favorite snack?

Nutella and peanut butter in a graham cracker sandwich.

11 Questions for Nominees:

1.  What is your favorite kitchen utensil?

2.  What are you currently reading?

3.  What are you currently writing?

4.  Do you believe Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone?  If so, why?  If not, why not?

5.  Have you ever run a mile?  If so, what was your best time?

6.  What country would you most like to visit?

7.  If you could invite 3 persons (living or dead, historical or fictional)  to dinner who would they be?

8.  What posters were on your walls when you were growing up?

9.  What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

10.  Who are you rooting for in the upcoming papal election?

11.  Name one of your favorite college courses.

11 Nominees:

alive (to the tips of her fingers):  Alyssa Hollingsworth vs. Travel, Writing, Arthritis and College.

The Cusella Files are a work in progress.

Words Without Pages: “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” – Ray Bradbury.

Kate Murray: A guide to being a dyslexic on a creative writing masters course.

thee sePARaTor: Dread mEssy streAming pounDing (erosion)

A Mind Divided: Artful, Conscious Living with Bipolar Disorder

onceup0natimeinabedofwildflowers:  The adventures of a country girl turned city mom…

Don’t Mind Me: It’s just the Lithium talking.

c. j. lee poetry: touching intimacy with honesty.

stray lower: “Graze on my lips; and if those hills be dry, stray lower, where the pleasant fountains lie.” -Shakespeare.

lazywednesdays: a quiet place to create an escape.

Depression Time: living with depression, panic, pills, sluggish response times, magnets, and big damn dreams

6 thoughts on “Long Live the Liebster

  1. I grew up in the same small southern hometown as Harlem Globe Trotter Sweet Lou Dunbar (our dad’s worked together during the civil rights era) And, you already know that we share John Prine.

    Sorry for your funk.Hope your spirits lift soon.

  2. Liebster!
    How exciting!!
    I feel the need exclaim something joyous for you in German. But alas, I know too little of that language to exclaim something well. So, I will leave you with this bit of advice. Never forget to look before you “leap, sir,” especially if you’re holding your Lieb-ster.

What Do You Think?

