A Clarion Call: My Life with (and without) God – Part IV

 

Our pilgrimage led East – to Pennsylvania.

I became pastor of a heavily-endowed church

Looking for an infusion of youthful energy

A young pastor and his family to do the trick.

 

I was full of myself, but little else.

When growth was slow, I fell back to despair.

And looked to a new drug to pick me up.

Effexor did just that –

It picked me up and kept me up for six solid days and nights.

 

Street signs became messages from God.

Ideas became revelations.

Feverous with a mission, not just to assuage but to save,

I started to cry during sermons

And laugh when I was alone.

 

Alice took me to Clairon hospital.

As they fastened the door,

I started pacing the floor.

Sensing some signal.

 

It was the end of the world.

This was the only safe haven left.

I had to break out and bring my family back.

But they were watching me.

 

I grabbed a plate full of sugar cookies.

And shoved them all in my mouth.

Then took off running toward the glass door,

Crashing into it with a loud BANG.

 

A crowd gathered around me,

I shoved them away and started running again.

The staff surrounded me and thought they had me subdued.

(Or so they later told me)

Psychiatric patient in a strait-jacket, hugging his knees.  This artwork was published in an 1838 French work on mental illness (Des maladies mentales) by the French psychiatrist Jean-Etienne Dominique Esquirol (1772-1840).

 

the story begins…

Out of Nineveh:  My Life with (and without) God – Part I

Sent to Serve: My Life with (and without) God – Part II

Prayer, Parenting, Pits, and Pills: My Life with (and without) God – Part III

 

the story continues…

Alone in a Fog: My Life with (and without) God – Part V

On a Teeter-Totter: My Life with (and without) God – Part VI

In the Heart of the Finger Lakes: My Life with (and without) God – Part VII

Chosen to Adopt: My Life with (and without) God – Part VIII

Lost on Long Island: My Life with (and without) God – Part IX

 

image from chantal pollier via Nilgün Gürsoy in history of psychology

One thought on “A Clarion Call: My Life with (and without) God – Part IV

What Do You Think?

