Prayer, Parenting, Pits, and Pills: My Life with (and without) God – Part III

Despair

 

In a fit of creative energy, I composed a book on prayer.

I was so busy with prayer  that I didn’t have time to pray.

I started a book on faithful fathering and

Alice took Sarah to a friend’s for companionship.

They were gone three days.

When they returned, I fell into a deep despair.

Sleeping days, staying up all night.

 

A friend recommended his psychiatrist,

Who prescribed pills –

A new generation of anti-depressants.

Not your mother’s valium, I was assured.

 

With prayer and pills, God and therapy,

I found some relief.

Released, we conceived again –

Our graceful pilgrim –

Grace Alehah.

 

 

the story begins….

Out of Nineveh:  My Life with (and without) God – Part I

Sent to Serve: My Life with (and without) God – Part II

 

the story continues…

A Clarion Call: My Life with (and without) God – Part IV

Alone in a Fog: My Life with (and without) God – Part V

On a Teeter-Totter: My Life with (and without) God – Part VI

In the Heart of the Finger Lakes: My Life with (and without) God – Part VII

Chosen to Adopt: My Life with (and without) God – Part VIII

Lost on Long Island: My Life with (and without) God – Part IX

 

(image “Despair”  Katherine Smith from Crows ~ Ravens ~ Black Birds ~ Birds that are Black)

One thought on “Prayer, Parenting, Pits, and Pills: My Life with (and without) God – Part III

  1. I can relate to your prayer comment. I’ve been reading the bible on a “year plan” with a friend. I’ve been reading so much I feel I am not reading at all, If that makes sense.

What Do You Think?

