A Happy Meal at McDonald’s

While standing in line, I was tapped on the shoulder.

I took the cell out of my ear and turned around.

“Excuse me, sir, but your conversation is bothering me,” said a woman in a large floral print dress.

“What?”

“Your conversation.  Could you take it somewhere else?”

I put the phone back to my ear.  “Hey honey, would you hang on just a second?”

“I’m sorry to intrude, sir, but I’m trying to concentrate on my order.”

“Let me get this straight.  My conversation was keeping you from concentrating on whether you want to order a Big Mac or a Quarter Pounder with cheese.  Am I right?”

“You don’t have to take it personally,” she said, straightening her shoulders.

“Oh, I’m not taking it personally.  If I were taking it personally I would point out that the cheap perfume you are wearing is giving me a migraine and the fact that you are occupying about 85% of my personal space is giving me the willies.”

“Are you implying that I’m overweight?”

“I don’t want to further complicate your deliberations, but you might want to add a McSalad to your menu options.”

“Well, I never…”

“Tell you what,” I said, putting the phone to her ear.  “How about you talk to my wife and I’ll place your order?”

Premium Southwest Salad with Grilled Chicken #mcdonalds

Premium Southwest Salad with Grilled Chicken

#mcdonalds in  McDonald’s Global Menu Items

(inspired by a writing prompt from Today’s Author)

4 thoughts on “A Happy Meal at McDonald’s

  1. Ouch. I feel rather badly about the laughter that keeps threatening to burble out, distracting my students from their writing endeavors. I really need to be careful about my perfume, don’t I? 😉

What Do You Think?

