In Memory of Lawrence Liebster (May He Rest In Peace)

20130208-200441.jpg

Hollie from The Queen of Query has nominated me for The Liebster Award.

I am grateful, bemused and bewildered.

According to Hollie’s nomination post –

The Liebster Award is intended for new blogs  (particularly those with 200 or less followers) to raise their profile awareness.

But just who was this Liebster anyway?

I imagine some literary agent – Cyrus Brood – who for 40 years took great pleasure in denying the dreams of aspiring authors, flitting query letters in the waste baskets, lining the bottom of his birdcage with manuscript pages. laughing at proposed plots over martinis with a gang of publishers at the local steam room.  

Then one day, a woman in a brown skirt comes to him in tears.

“Are you Mr. Brood?”

“Why yes, I am?”

She hands him a manuscript.

“I am Iris Liebster.  This was my son Lawrence’s.  He shot himself last night.  His last request was that I give this to you.  Will you read it?”

“Well, I, um… ” he looked into her eyes,  “I will.”

And he did.  And it was good.  Very good.  It was a critical success.  It became a best seller.  A whopping best seller. 

With his share of the royalties, he established a trust for “The Liebster Awards”.

With this story in mind, I simply must accept this award and follow its terms, which are –

1)  Post 11 random facts about myself (below).

2)  Answer 11 questions (further below).

3)  Make up 11 more questions (in later post).

4)  Nominate 11 more blogs (also in later post).

11 Random Facts:

1)  I am a man who cherishes “decency and good order”, seeking out patterns in what others accept as random.

2)  I ate “Jambalaya” for supper.  It was not only decent.  It was very, very good.

3)  My youngest daughter was born in New Orleans, home of the “Saints” football team.

4) I’m currently reading Waiting for God by Simone Weil, considered by some to be a secular saint.

5)  I just finished reading The Rabbit Hole, a Pulitzer-Prize winning play about a couple grieving the death of their son.

6)  I’m writing a trilogy of short stories – “Life”, “Liberty” and “The Pursuit of Happiness” which I hope to publish and adapt into a script soon.

7)  I am essentially an unhappy person who nonetheless laughs at life and finds joy in Christ.

8) I just purchased tickets to see the play “Freud’s Last Session” which depicts Freud debating C.S. Lewis on issues of God, sex, death, and life.

9) When I was in high school, I played Eeyore in “The House on Pooh Corner”

10)  I wrote a post today about a pre-game prayer my basketball coach said at the sectional tournament that may have cost us the game.

11)  I’m participating in a six-week workshop on “Writing Your Spiritual Autobiography”.

11  Questions

(and my answers)

1.  What would you say first inspired you to try writing?

Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

2.  Do you listen to music or other aural ambiance while you write?

Yes.  Right now I’m listen to “Artist Radio based on Iris Dement” from Spotify.

3.  If you could only visit one more place in the world, where would it be?

Scotland.

4.  eBook or printed book?

Both.  Whatever I can get conveniently (and free) from the library.

5.  Traditional Publishing or Self-publishing?

Undecided.  I’m looking at a traditional publisher for my trilogy of shorts and self-publishing my spiritual memoir.  But that may change.

6.  In two words or less, how would you describe your sense of humor?

Ironic iconoclasm.

7.  If your current novel were made into a movie, who would you cast as the lead?

Robert Redford

8.  Who is your favorite fictional character?

Owen Meany.

9.  Do you dress up for Halloween?

No.

10.  What are you reading at the moment?

Waiting for God by Simone Weil, and –

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

11.  What is your favorite quote?

… we must feel the reality and presence of God through all external things, without exception, as clearly as our hand feels the substance of paper through the penholder and the nib.   – Simone Weil

5 thoughts on “In Memory of Lawrence Liebster (May He Rest In Peace)

  1. It’s interesting to read random things about people and the books they are or have recently read. I wonder how some people can post everyday…sometimes several times a day. I try to post every other day – or at least Monday, Wednesday and Friday, but have been slack lately. The last book I read was “God’s Poetry” by Anne Hamilton and am currently reading “The Most Amazing Song of All by King Solomon” written by Brian Simmons. I couldn’t think of 11 random facts about me that wouldn’t bore people silly 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Tony! I loved learning all those random facts about you. So much fun! I am curious about #8) Freud’s Last Session. That sounds incredibly interesting. Perhaps you’ll write your thoughts about the production here?

    • Yes, I expect to get a lot of mileage out of “Freud’s Last Session”. The production is next Saturday. You can probably look for a post either Saturday evening or Sunday afternoon.

What Do You Think?

