“…why abandon a belief” by Robert Frost

Today I thought I would post a poem Robert Frost I copied out when I visited my family in New York.  I share this with a tip of the cap to Russell Boyle, who says Frost is his favorite poet.   He has indicated in the comments of this post that this is an excerpt from Frost’s poem “The Black Cottage”, the link to which can be found here:  http://russellboyle.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/the-black-cottage-by-robert-frost/

                 Robert Frost

… why abandon a belief

merely because it ceases to be true

cling to it long enough, and not a doubt

it will turn again, for so it goes.

Most of the change we think we see in life

is due to truths being in and out of favor.

As I sit here, and oftentimes, I wish

I could be monarch of a desert land

I could devote and dedicate forever

To the truths we keep coming

back and back to.

(image “Robert Frost” from Boston Public Library, some rights reserved)

3 thoughts on ““…why abandon a belief” by Robert Frost

  1. Your excerpt, Tony, is from Robert Frost’s poem titled “The Black Cottage”. The poem is quite long. It seems to question the permanance of our mark on the world as humans, our inability to change, the need for us to change and perhaps the belief, held by some, that the more things do change the more they stay the same. Nature, however, continues almost undisturbed, as symbolised, perhaps, by the bees at the end of the poem. Here is a link to the complete poem: http://russellboyle.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/the-black-cottage-by-robert-frost/

What Do You Think?

