A Beautiful Blogger Award (am I blushing, or is my blood pressure going up?)

Image

I just received word that Cathy from Expattery nominated me for this “Beautiful Blogger Award”.  I questioned her whether the nomination was for the quality of writing on my blog or the irresistible pensive expression in my Gravatar image.  She hasn’t responded yet, but I’m going to take my chances.  Either way, I could use the hits.

As with all human endeavors, this love in conditional.  Here’s what I have to do.

  1. Place the Beautiful Blogger Award in your post. (see above)
  2. Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. (done)
  3. Tell 7 things about yourself. (see below)
  4. Pass this Beautiful Blogger Award on to 7 more bloggers. (see further below)

Since my blog is about writing, I’ll make the 7 things about myself relate to my writing life.

1. The first poem I ever wrote was entitled “Ode to My Pet Rock”

2.  In high school, I wrote a parody of my senior class called, No Biggy.  This was before the days of blogging.  I hand-wrote the chapters and passed them around during class.

3.  I published a short story about a suicidal non-published author.  The last page was splattered with blood (actually red food coloring).  The problem was, the journal printed the page in black-and-white and it looked more like something from a Rorschach test.

4.  I co-wrote a collection of stories and poems with a friend under the influence of various substances.  It was entitled The Week That Was (Almost 10 Days).  My favorite poem was “How to Make Instant Pudding”.

5.  For my senior thesis, I wrote a collection of stories called Life (in obvious places) that combined family stories with quasi-fictional characters.  A lovely young woman named Allison served as my muse.  After I handed her a copy of the finished manuscript, she dumped me.

6.  In graduate school, I co-produced and wrote two satirical newsletters “The Institutes: A Publication of the John Calvin Men’s Society” and “Rude Dogma”.  They were short-lived, but one more radical professor deemed  “Rude Dogma” – “better than the book of Leviticus.”

7.  My current manuscript is a collection of meditations on mental illness.  It’s called From Sheol to the Highest Heavens: 101 Devotions for Persons with Bipolar Disorder and Those Who Love Them.  I am currently considering my publishing options.

Now, for my 7 nominees (in no particular order), I decree –

charlottesville winter – a nifty collection of poetry, poetic prose, and prosaic photography.

Peaceful Partings  – spiritual reflections from a seeker for truth and beauty.

Julie Israel – a writer who reads (and reviews) classics to write even better.

Sky Saiyou – various writings and edited photos that looks as good as it reads.

Jessica Wretlind – humorous (and hip) takes on just about anything in the world.

Allen Fiction – contemporary (and refreshingly clean) fictional forays.

One Starving Activist – hungry for inspiration, and finding nourishment to inspire.

10 thoughts on “A Beautiful Blogger Award (am I blushing, or is my blood pressure going up?)

  1. I hope the award is for the quality of your writing. I did subscribe earlier after following the link from my wife Cathy’s nomination. From what I have seen so far, sir, it is well deserved.

    • Thank you for the compliment. Perhaps it’s false modesty, but I get squeemish with compliments. I’ve internalized the Biblical passage (in the “New Testament”) that says, roughly, “Beware when men think highly of you.”

      Nonetheless, welcome aboard. I do hope you continue to enjoy my work.

    • Absolutely. I would love to co-author a piece with you as the head of the Crane Operators Guild on the current backlash on unions and the future for laborers in towns across this great country of ours. Just let me know if you’d be interested (and if you can fit it into the schedule of a high-flying, multi-media servant of the Lord).

  2. Hi, thanks for nominating me. I really appreciate it. But the pictures on my posts are not sketches, unfortunately. They’re just photographs edited. So you might want to edit that part. I love drawing but right now I just can’t seem to find the time to write and to draw.

    Anyway, thanks again! And your award is well-deserved indeed. 😉

  3. Pingback: A Beautiful Blogger Award | bottomless sky

    • I will have to track down those poems and post them someday. I “purged” my collection of writings when I was having something of a spiritual/psychological crisis once, but I think those two have survived somewhere.

      I will check out your post on the “Beautiful Blogger Award”. Thanks for passing it on.

What Do You Think?

