“Rest Easy” by Andrew Peterson: Contemporary Christian Music That is All Three (in One)

andrew peterson

 

You are not alone
I will always be with you
Even to the end

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
So you can rest easy

Do not be afraid
Nothing, nothing in the world
Can come between us now

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
So you can rest easy

You work so hard to wear yourself down
And you’re running like a rodeo clown
You’re smiling like you’re scared to death
You’re out of faith and all out of breath
You’re so afraid you’ve got nowhere left to go

Well, you are not alone
I will always be with you

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
You can rest easy

(lyrics found at New Release Tuesday.Com)

By far my favorite contemporary Christian singer/songwriter is Andrew Peterson, and I have good reasons.  I’ll name three, using his recent song “Rest Easy” to illustrate.

1)  He is contemporary without being trendy. His songs deal with timeless themes – faith, commitment, loss, sacrifice. Yet, he sings of them in a modern, accessible language that even the youngest among us can appreciate.  In “Rest Easy”, he packages a deep theological topic about which volumes have been written (the doctrine of assurance of salvation) – into three lines you don’t even have to be religious to understand – “You can rest easy/You don’t have to prove yourself/You’re already mine.”

2) He is unapologetically Christian in his perspective.  I don’t know Peterson’s partiuclar brand of Christian affiliation, but his lyrics are thoroughly Biblical and richly rooted in ancient Christian creeds and doctrine.  The first lines of “Rest Easy” are practically a paraphrase of the closing of the Great Commission, where Jesus tells his disciples (including us) – “….lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. (see Matthew 28:16-20)

3) He makes good music.  I realize there is much room for debate about what makes for good music (and I invite you to respond in comments).  I’m certainly not an expert on instrumentation, but I do know that Peterson’s simple melodies and beautiful harmonies blend the sound of his voice with the song of his accompaniment in a way that gives glory to God.

If you are looking for good music that is both contemporary and Christian, give Andrew Peterson a listen.  If you have written off Christian music as nothing but pious platitudes set to pop beats, check him out.  To start you off I highly recommend you devote about 3 minutes and take a look and listen to this official video for “Rest Easy“.  Let me know what you think…

 

(photo of Andrew Peterson from cmcentral, some rights reserved)

What Do You Think?

