Some Encouraging Words on Writing

As I begin this, I have one hour before 2013 begins.  There are many ways I could spend it.  Usually, I just go to bed before midnight as if it were any other day.  Tonight, however, I’m going to spend at least some of the last hour of 2012 sharing a few posts on writing I have “liked” since coming back to blogging a few weeks ago.

Unrequited Love” (Griffins and Ginger Snaps) – The story of a woman who likes to write but who thinks a writing life has passed her by.  If this post is any indication of her work, I think she may be mistaken.

Book Review: Bird by Bird” (For the Someday Book) – An excellent review of Anne Lamott’s book on writing I have featured on my page “Books on Writing”, but I’ve yet to fully read.

In Praise of Honest Praise” (Jake MacMillan) – A celebration of parents and teachers who encourage us to write by giving us affirming feedback that does not become syrupy sweet.

Lilly (Blog Hop Story)” (Writings and Ruminations) – A wonderfully inventive short story based on an adorable photo.

 

Finally, before I sign off, I want to thank those of you who have visited, read, commented, and followed my blog thus far.  I’m trying not to become enamored with stats, particularly so early in this venture (and given that I’ve yet to master how to verify my blog with Google so I can get those valuable “search engine” hits).  Still, I’m happy to say your care-full reading is inspiring me to become a better writer.  I look forward to travelling this road with you in the days ahead.

Path Through the Woods

(“Path Through the Woods” from Chris Campbell, some rights reserved)

One thought on “Some Encouraging Words on Writing

  1. Wow! Thank you so much for including my story. I am humbled by your kind words. I look forward to reading the posts you have suggested here. For the record, Anne Lammot’s Bird by Bird is my most favorite book about writing (and life!) thus far. I definitely encourage you to indulge in this work sooner rather than later. 🙂 Happy New Year to you!

What Do You Think?

