What Sam Found In His Backpack After Break (A Prompted Poem)

In my eighth post of Christmas, I truly give to you…

backpack

– one library copy of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground (overdue)

– one composition notebook with “Sam’s journal” written on the cover with a black Sharpie.

– two blackened banana peels, and one browned apple core, slightly shriveled.

– one black, long-sleeve “Mumford and Sons” t-shirt.

– one pack of tissues.

– five crumpled tissues, gently used.

– 10 sheets of lined paper with partial poems, all entitled “Sandy” wadded up in balls.

– one 2 GB Sony Voice recorder.

– two phone chargers.

– one red umbrella with cats and dogs printed on it and the words, “It’s raining cats and dogs.”

– one large stainless steel coffee mug.

– three pens

– a large ink stain.

– regret.

*****

     This poem was inspired by a prompt by Today’s Author, which was – “Develop a new character ONLY by describing the contents of their purse (backpack, etc…)

(image “Backpack” from phossil, some rights reserved)

*****

– In the first post of Christmas, I truly gave to you…. “God is With Us (a Christmas Story based on Matthew 1.18-2.12)

– In the second post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “Assaulting a Felon with a Fruitcake.”

– In the third post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “Some of the Best Christmas Blog Posts for 2012

– In the fourth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “I Wonder as I Wander

– In the fifth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Be More Like a Child at Christmas (and beyond)

– In the sixth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Five Favorite Movies for the Christmas Season

– In the seventh post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “From India to Indiana: My New E-Pal

 – In the ninth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “The Precise Dilemma: A Book Review

– In the tenth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Potentially Praiseworthy Poems Posted on WordPress

2 thoughts on “What Sam Found In His Backpack After Break (A Prompted Poem)

What Do You Think?

