The 12 Posts of Christmas

Contrary to popular beliefs, Christmas is neither a single day when we binge on food and fight with our relatives nor is it the period between “Black Friday” season where we fight with the crowds and spend too much money.  The Christmas season begins December 25, the day we’ve set aside to mark the birth of Christ and lasts 12 days, to the feast of the Epiphany, which commemorates the appearance of the “magi” or wise men.

12 days of christmas

There seems to be a debate about whether the classic hymn “The 12 Days of Christmas” is really a secret code teaching doctrine to the persecuted faithful.  Check out this article at Catholic.net for the view that it is.  Look at this if you want to see why some claim this as an urban legend.

For my part, I don’t feel the need to enter the debate about the song.  I’m just going to adapt the concept of the dozen day period as a time to reflect on the meaning of Christ’s birth as well as what it has become in our secular society.  I’m going to share “The 12 Posts of Christmas” – some sacred, some secular, some funny, some serious, some brief, some not-so-brief.   I don’t know whether I will post each day or double (or triple) up and skip days (or finish early).  I’m going to let the “Spirit” lead and see where I go.  Just pray with me it’s truly the Spirit (the Holy kind with the capital “S”) and not some other spirit.  That never ends well.

(image of “12 days of Christmas” from buttersweetsome rights reserved)

*****

– In the first post of Christmas, I truly gave to you…. “God is With Us (a Christmas Story based on Matthew 1.18-2.12)

– In the second post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “Assaulting a Felon with a Fruitcake.”

– In the third post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “Some of the Best Christmas Blog Posts for 2012

– In the fourth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you… “I Wonder as I Wander

– In the fifth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Be More Like a Child at Christmas (and beyond)

– In the sixth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Five Favorite Movies for the Christmas Season

– In the seventh post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “From India to Indiana: My New E-Pal

– In the eighth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “What Sam Found in His Backpack After Break (A Prompted Poem)

– In the ninth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “The Precise Dilemma: A Book Review

– In the tenth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Potentially Praiseworthy Poems Posted on WordPress

What Do You Think?

