Some of the Best Christmas Blogs for 2012

In the third post of Christmas, I truly give to you….

blog

… some of the best blog posts I have read (thus far) about the season.  It wasn’t an easy task.  I read so many posts tagged “Christmas”, I think I’m ready to join WordPress’ “Freshly Pressed” staff.  For better and for worse, a few things didn’t make it on the list, three of these include –

– any posts strictly devoted to the Biblical narrative of the first Christmas.  I figured my lengthy post “God is With Us” would serve this purpose.

– Christmas cards disguised as blog posts, though I do respect the thrift involved in saving money on stamps.

– diatribes against the consumer culture that drives us to spend so much money on so much stuff.  Again, I thought my “Wendell Berry (and me) on Consumerism” covers this sufficiently.

Now, the blogroll please…

Do They Know It’s Christmas Yet?” (Protocol) raises the specter of doubt over the allocation of resources raised through the 1984 charity single that led to the massive benefit concert “Live Aid”  According to the post, the jury is still out about how much of the aid went into actual relief.

It Christmas” (Bigfoot Child Have Diabetes) conveys an endearing record of one family’s Christmas in this hectic world.  Word of caution: I debated with myself about whether I should feel guilty over laughing at what could be construed as racist dialect, but I decided it is done here in good fun.  Goodness sakes, read Faulkner or Twain if you have a problem with this.

Shut the Front Door!!”  (tipsyartist’s Blog)  displays a colorful, textured painting of a Christmas tree that is both artistic and thrifty.  I tried to get her to donate it to me, but it has family names on it and I don’t think taking a Sharpie to them would be a good aesthetic choice.

The Satin Christmas Horse” (Daruma Eye) is a memoir of one girl who was never taught to believe in Santa Claus yet who comes through her childhood with a deep respect and love for what her single mother has given her.

All I Want for Christmas, Part One: Planted Feet and Palms Pressed Together” & “…, Part Two: To Believe” (Rebekah Faubion, Writer) depicts one woman’s longing to be settled after being divided between two lands and how she finds faith in the eyes of her child.

(image “50 Golden Blogging Tips…” from Kris Olin)

*****

– The Introduction to “The 12 Posts of Christmas

– In the first post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “God is With Us (a Christmas Story based on Matthew 1.18-2.12)“.

– In the second post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Assaulting a Felon with a Fruitcake

– In the fourth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “I Wonder as I Wander

– In the fifth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Be More Like a Child at Christmas (and beyond)

– In the sixth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Five Favorite Movies for the Christmas Season

– In the seventh post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “From India to Indiana: My New E-Pal

– In the eighth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “What Sam Found in His Backpack After Break (A Prompted Poem)

– In the ninth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “The Precise Dilemma: A Book Review

– In the tenth post of Christmas, I truly gave to you – “Potentially Praiseworthy Poems Posted on WordPress

2 thoughts on “Some of the Best Christmas Blogs for 2012

What Do You Think?

