The End of the World (as they knew it)

There was a knock at the door and suddenly the Christmas lights went out.

“It’s the end of the world!” said Maura, an avid reader of apocalyptic literature who had yet to give up on the Mayan 2012 prediction.

“We need to pray.” said Paul, who, at 16, had found his way into a youth group at a local evangelical church.

“First we need to confess our sin,” said Father, rather quizzically.  He was a lapsed Catholic who hadn’t been to Mass in years and he wasn’t sure of confessional rules in the End Times.

“Okay, I’ll go get my cell phone.  I just downloaded a confessional app.” said Thomas who, after a season of doubting, had found a link to a site called “The Virtual Vatican” that had given his life new meaning and purpose.

“Let’s just answer the damn door and check the breakers!”  said Sonya, who had come out last year as an atheist.  Two years ago, she came out as a lesbian.  The year before that, as Bipolar.

Sonya answered the door.  Nobody was there.  She checked the breakers.  None of the fuses were blown.

“I tell you, it’s the end the world!” repeated Maura.

“Let us pray.” said Paul, bowing his head.

“First, confess.” said Dad, a little more certain.

“Where’s my cell phone?” asked Thomas.

“You guys are nuts.” declared Sonya.  “I can’t wait to post this on my blog!”

“YOU ARE A BLOGGER?” they all exclaimed.

Sonya just smiled and quietly brushed a strand of hair from her face.

 

(This story was inspired by a writing prompt – the first sentence – from “Today’s Author“.)

Image

(“Christmas lights” by harold.lloyd, some rights reserved)

9 thoughts on “The End of the World (as they knew it)

    • Truth is just as strange as fiction. I heard about the “confessional app” on NPR (check it out here). The “Virtual Vatican” is more of a tourist site than a place to grow in faith, so I did stretch the truth a little there. Glad you got a chuckle.

    • I tell you, the Roman Catholic church really has it together when it comes to their marketing savvy. They really know how to get the word out. Whether it’s the Word they get out is open for debate, however. It’s nice to hear from you. I hope you’ll visit again.

  1. This was all kinds of adorable. Short but well done ,with neat characterization that feels true to life. I really enjoyed it.

    By the way, I’m here via Today’s Author.

    • I’m so glad you liked this little piece. I had fun writing it. I look forward to the community-building at Today’s Author. I’ve already appreciated the few folks I’ve connected with from there and I think it will only grow. It’s a great concept.

What Do You Think?

