Trevor Jackson: My (soon-to-be) Famous Cousin (once-removed)

 trevor jackson - xmas eve 2012

(copyright indytony, some rights reserved)

Today I went to two family Christmas gatherings.  The first (my dad’s side) had a special guest.   Well, not that everyone there isn’t special, but this person is becoming very special to very many people thanks to his charismatic personality, his artistic abilities (singing, acting, dancing) and his charming good looks (at least that’s what I’m told – he’s not exactly my type – nor am I his, I’m sure).

Trevor Jackson is the son of my cousin Cam Baxter, the grandson of my aunt Rosialene.  He has been performing since a very early age.  He got his first big break when he was cast as Young Simba in the Broadway National Tour of “The Lion King” (2005-2008).  My family went to see him when the play was in Rochester and I was amazed at Trevor’s gifts, his composure and almost total lack of precociousness on stage.  He was up there having a ball and doing a great job.  And his voice was beyond belief!

Trevor and his mom moved to Hollywood when he aged out of the Young Simba role and he has been actively building up his career with various commercials (Honda, T-Mobile, Microsoft, NBA, just to name a few).  He landed parts in two films – “My Life in the Ocean” and “A Beautiful Soul”.  He was then contracted in the regular role of Kris McDuffy in the SciFi channel’s “Eureka” as well as Disney’s TV movie “Let It Shine” (for more on Trevor’s acting, check out his IMDb page).

While keeping busy in the acting industry, we’ve been hearing snippets from my Cousin Cam and Aunt Rosialene that they were very close to sharing some “big news” about his music career.  Before long, we received word that Trevor had signed with Atlantic Records.

Needless to say, we’re all very proud of him.  One of the (other) great things about Trevor (apart from his performing abilities) is that he has a good heart and (I believe), a strong faith foundation.  My son has Down syndrome and is a very good judge of character.  He immediately took a liking to Trevor and Trevor was not above playing and attending to him, “letting his face shine” just like he now does for some many others in the world.

If you are interested in hearing an advance sampling of Trevor’s music, before his music is widely distributed, check out this Michael Jackson tribute video he did a couple years ago (when he was 14).  I also encourage you to follow him on Twitter, Facebook (where he already has over 28,000 “likes”) or his newly emerging website.

Personal message to Trevor:  I’m sorry I didn’t get the chance to talk to you much at the gathering today, as I had to move on to another one.  I’m very proud of you (we all are) and I pray that you continue to put your gifts to good use to inspire others and give glory to God.  On a purely selfish note, I want to let you know that I am currently available to write your official biography.  I don’t want to pressure you or anything, but if I don’t hear back from you in a year or two, don’t be surprised if some “tell-all” about “Terrible Trevor” comes out and sells millions.  Just kidding.  Keep the faith.

2 thoughts on “Trevor Jackson: My (soon-to-be) Famous Cousin (once-removed)

What Do You Think?

