What Do You Want to Be When You Grow Up?

 career assessment

Today my sister gave me a newspaper clipping from the Columbus, Indiana newspaper The Republic about a free service Harrison College is providing to help people decide which careers match their personalities and skill sets.  This on-line tool is free and can be accessed by clicking on this link.

The assessment is divided into individual profiles and after answering a number of question in each profile, you are provided a summary.

The first profile is a “Work Interest”.  I was a bit surprised to learn that I scored highest in the “social” category, as I have a somewhat introverted personality.  I think my years of being a pastor and working with people have stimulated me to appreciate the value of working with a team.  Right behind my “social” score was “artistic”, which fits my desire to write.  Putting these two scores together, I think I would do better writing for a organization of some kind rather than working solo in free-lance.  Or, if I do work free-lance, I would do well to do a lot of face-to-face networking.

I got a chuckle when I looked at the bottom of the profile and found that I scored a “0.00” in the “realistic” category.  These are the “doers”, so in one sense I guess this means I don’t really do anything.  To be more specific, this means I wouldn’t enjoy fixing things, working outdoors, or solving mechanical problems.  I suppose this is why my wife always got stuck putting together the Christmas toys.

Under my “personality” profile, it indicated that I am a “people person” and that I would be well suited for “counseling, teaching, health sciences, psychology, arts and literature”.  This is consistent with my current job search for an internship in writing, and it also gives some direction to areas of writing I may want to focus on.  Positions I am pursuing such as grant writing for health care organizations, website development for psychotherapists and other health care professionals fit my personality.  I may want to expand my search, though, to include such things as vocational counseling and some form of teaching, perhaps literature or creative writing.

At this point in the assessment, I inadvertently exited the program and couldn’t get back in.  I contacted a representative through their chat line and she admitted it was such a new program, her only advice was to start over.  I have a number of other projects to complete today, so I’ll save it for another time.  I guess the lesson to be learned here is I’m not well suited for computer work without strong technical support.

(image “Career Assessment” from jugbo, some rights reserved)

2 thoughts on “What Do You Want to Be When You Grow Up?

  1. It’s a question that’s dead easy when you’re a kid and becomes more difficult as you grow older. I still haven’t figured it out. There are so many paths to choose from!

    The best of luck with your writing project!

    • Yeah, when I was a kid I wanted to be a professional basketball player. I even practiced signing my autograph really fast on round objects. Come to think of it, maybe I should have practiced my game a little more and my signature less. I could have been somebody!

What Do You Think?

